Originally Posted by revischrist
But that's the funny part, they still called illegal formation penalty on the first play of the game that had no impact on the play. They called PI on the last scoring drive for the Ravens that extended their drive on third down. I'm not complaining about those calls, but you can't arbitrarily decide which calls are ok to call in a SB and which are not.
IIRC, the illegal formation might have had an impact on the play. When teams line up, you have to have 7 guys on the LoS and the player on each end is an eligible receiver, along with anyone in the backfield. All other players are ineligible. Davis was lined up as the TE on the left hand side, but a WR "covered" him by lining up on the LoS. This signals to the defense that Davis isn't eligible and therefore, they don't have to cover him down field.