Post Thanks / Like

Another Global Warming Article

A very good article on Global Warming:

[url]http://www.fee.org/in_brief/default.asp?id=966[/url]

[QUOTE]The Goal Is Freedom: Global Warming and the Layman
    December 8, 2006

by Sheldon Richman

Sheldon Richman is the editor of The Freeman and "In brief."

Global warming is a divisive issue. People are either believers or skeptics, with each side viewing the other with apprehension. I've sided firmly with the skeptics, but lately I have had a nagging concern. Like most people, I am not an atmospheric scientist. I have no firsthand way to evaluate a scientific claim for or against the existence of global warming. So what grounds have I for believing what one scientist says against the thesis over what another one says in favor of it?

No good grounds at all.

I know why I have preferred the skeptical scientists and science writers, but the reasons aren't good ones because they aren't scientific. Instead they are based on extraneous things, such as the environmentalists' previous faulty record of predictions, or the typical statist approach to dealing with global warming, or the respective sides' presumed attitudes about industrialism.

It is true that many environmental nightmare scenarios are of doubtful worth because they are based more on bad economics than on science. The overpopulation hysteria is one that thankfully has subsided. Likewise, predictions about the depletion of resources are refuted by sound economic theory and the "ultimate resource" arguments deployed by the late Julian Simon.

But a series of bad predictions doesn't mean the latest environmental prediction is necessarily wrong. For one thing, atmospheric scientists who warn about climate change are not necessarily the same people who warned about overpopulation and resource depletion. Moreover, even someone who has made bad predictions in the past may get the next one right.