Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Rainout Rule?

  1. #1
    Jets Insider Legend
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    14,874

    Rainout Rule?

    Today the Mets were declared winners after 1 out in the bottom of the 4th. I thought it had to be at least 5 1/2.

  2. #2
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    18,349
    Quote Originally Posted by JumbalayaJet
    Today the Mets were declared winners after 1 out in the bottom of the 4th. I thought it had to be at least 5 1/2.
    It was the bottom of the Fifth, not the Fourth.

    And the rule is that they have to play 5 innings, or 4 and a half innings if the home team is winning (Which the Mets were).

  3. #3
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15,550
    What'd you expect to happen here? For someone to say you're right and the umps screwed up?

  4. #4
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Jerseystrong
    Posts
    19,005
    Quote Originally Posted by BrooklynBound
    What'd you expect to happen here? For someone to say you're right and the umps screwed up?
    Or he could have just wanted a clarification about the rule.

  5. #5
    Jets Insider Legend
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    14,874
    Quote Originally Posted by Ven0m
    It was the bottom of the Fifth, not the Fourth.

    And the rule is that they have to play 5 innings, or 4 and a half innings if the home team is winning (Which the Mets were).
    Thanks. Me & my friends all thought it was 5 1/2.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    41,582
    Quote Originally Posted by JumbalayaJet

    Thanks. Me & my friends all thought it was 5 1/2.
    No, it's five full innings for the losing team .. so long as the losers get five full innings, the winners {i.e. home team} can still be declared the winners if they never get to bat in the bottom of the 5th, because it really doesn't matter, they're winning anyway .. but if the home team is losing after the top of the 5th, then they have to get the bottom of the 5th or it's not an official game .. so it's real simple Jumba, the losing team must get five full turns AB

  7. #7
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15,550
    Quote Originally Posted by ruby2glocks
    Or he could have just wanted a clarification about the rule.
    didn't the umps do enough clarifying yesterday?

  8. #8
    Jets Insider Legend
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    14,874
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Jets & Ham
    .. so it's real simple Jumba, the losing team must get five full turns AB
    Yep. We all thought it was six. Nice to see Maine get an easy game.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Follow Us