Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Our Ineffective Educational System........

Our Ineffective Educational System........

In reading Warfish's top issues in the upcoming election thread, it struck me just how many people chose to include education - even above some other huge issues.

I teach mathematics and coach for a living, and I am a conservative who (though stronlgy opposed to national teacher union politics) has done some work at the lowest levels of the union. Having been involved in this for 23 years has taught me a thing or two. But before I give my opinion, I would like to hear what everyone thinks the faults (and the strengths, if any) are.

All Pro
    Weaknesses

Too dependent on tenure instead of free market quality.
    Salaries too low at high school level and lower.
    Not enough emphasis on math and science.
    Lunch menus and vending machines do not promote a healthy lifestyle.

Strengths

Extracurricular activities including sports and clubs.
    Guidance counselors available to all.
    AP and Honors courses.

I just read a book which I think partly states the problem with our education system. The book is called "Generation Me". In a nutshell, it discusses how the generation bron from 1972 to the 1990's was raised to believe in individuality. I am 27, so I can relate. Growing up, everyone was special, everyone was a winner, and in anything you did, we were coddled. Teachers no longer are seen as authoritative because this current generation does not respect authority because we are ingrained to be individuals and think for ourselves.

I think because we are so afraid of pissing off the PC police and parents who think their children are the greatest, we have a serious problem getting through to the kids. There is a reason why other countries produce much more respectful, focused, and more intelligent kids.