Thread: After Mets' loss, Nelson Figueroa calls Nationals 'bunch of softball girls'

All Pro

After Mets' loss, Nelson Figueroa calls Nationals 'bunch of softball girls'

http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/ba..._calls_na.html
    Figueroa knows about bush league baseball. After all, he's toured the world trying to resurrect his major league career.

But not until Monday night did Figueroa witness a truly amateurish display, the Mets pitcher suggested. Incensed at the chants emanating from the Washington dugout during the Mets' 10-4 loss Monday night at Shea, Figueroa ripped the Nationals afterward.

"They were cheerleading in the dugout like a bunch of softball girls," Figueroa said. "I'm a professional, just like anybody else. I take huge offense to that. If that's what a last-place team needs to do to fire themselves up, so be it. I think you need to show a little bit more class, a little bit more professionalism. They won tonight, but again, in the long run, they are who they are."

Figueroa couldn't pinpoint the culprits, but suggested the serenading peaked during the third inning, when the Nats loaded the bases and he forced in a run by walking Nick Johnson.

"Don't care," Figueroa said about learning the names of the perpetrators. "Truly unprofessional. "That's why they are who they are."

Of course, Lastings Milledge was in the middle of the controversy. The ex-Met - who has been disciplined for tardiness with the Nats this season - defended the actions.

"Well, what were we supposed to do? We're not supposed to cater to anybody on the opposing team," Milledge said. "We're not going to cater to him or anybody else. We've been down the last couple of days and we wanted to get something going. And if he doesn't like it, then he's got to deal with it. Anybody don't like it, they just have to deal with it."