2009 ArenaCup to feature National Conference Champion Spokane vs. American Conference Champion Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

The 2009 ArenaCup matchup is officially set as the American Conference Champion Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Pioneers will face the National Conference Champion Spokane Shock. The af2's 10th anniversary title game is scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 22 at 7:00 p.m. PT (10:00 p.m. ET) at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas. This will be the first time the af2 championship game will be held in Las Vegas.
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton (16-3) won the American Conference Championship with a 72-67 home triumph over Green Bay (12-7). The Pioneers, which earned their second trip to the ArenaCup in the last three years, were led by QB Ryan Vena. Vena accounted for nine total touchdowns (8 - passing, 1 - rushing) and completed 15-of-19 passes for 331 yards.

Spokane (18-1) claimed its second straight National Conference Championship with a 51-44 home victory over Tulsa (15-4). The Shock, who earned their third trip to the ArenaCup in the team's four-year history, were led by QB Nick Davila. Davila accounted for seven total touchdowns (6 - passing, 1 - rushing) while WRs Markee White (3 TD catches) and Andy Olson (12-105-2 TDs) also contributed in the win.

Tickets to ArenaCup10 are available by visiting www.orleansarena.com, all Coast Casinos box offices, The Galleria at Sunset or by calling 800-675-3267 and mention code: ARENACUP.


Saturday, August 22
Spokane Shock (18-1) vs. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton (16-3) 10:00 p.m. ET


American Conference
Saturday, August 15
No. 1 WILKES-BARRE/SCRANTON 72, No. 6 Green Bay 67

National Conference
Saturday, August 15
No. 1 SPOKANE 51, No. 2 Tulsa 44