Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help-Shoulder inpingement/bursitis!

All Pro
    Post Thanks / Like

Help-Shoulder inpingement/bursitis!

Been lifting weights for about 10 years and woke up about 2 months ago w/ extreme pain in my shoulder. An MRI revealed no tears. Just inpingement/bursitis. Got a cortizone shot and stayed away from the gym for 3 weeks.

When I started lifting again, I was pretty much pain free. But the more I lifted and went up in weight, it started coming back and tonight I had to leave mid workout as the pain was to great.

Any weightlifters out there have any advice? Would seeing a physical therapist help?

I am mentally addicted to the gym and get quite miserable when I cant lift.

Any advice would be much appreaciated.

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like
    Bursitis is pretty painful. Check to see if you don't have an infection. A certain part of your shoulder might have gone through some atrophy and is starting to weaken. Doc should give you some exercises to give you to strengthen it but you might have to stop lifting for a bit.

All League
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=Joe W. Namath;3379136]Been lifting weights for about 10 years and woke up about 2 months ago w/ extreme pain in my shoulder. An MRI revealed no tears. Just inpingement/bursitis. Got a cortizone shot and stayed away from the gym for 3 weeks.

When I started lifting again, I was pretty much pain free. But the more I lifted and went up in weight, it started coming back and tonight I had to leave mid workout as the pain was to great.

Any weightlifters out there have any advice? Would seeing a physical therapist help?

Any advice would be much appreaciated.[/QUOTE]