Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Phone Support: teh SUCK!

  1. #1
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    LI
    Posts
    20,663

    Phone Support: teh SUCK!

    Called Toro with what I thought was a pretty straightforward question (Can I connect 2 valves to 1 zone on the timer?). Took 20 minutes to explain to a phone jockey, during which time I got several answers to questions I had not asked.

    So extra flexibility I built into the system (which I never used) is biting me in the butt. Mondays suck. :mad:

  2. #2
    You haven't lived until you've tried to troubleshoot a hardware problem with Dell's spectacular India-based phone support.

    Never again.

    [IMG]http://thugtooth.net/images/india_phone_3.jpg[/IMG]

  3. #3
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    LI
    Posts
    20,663
    [QUOTE=Vinny Patrollie;3540631]You haven't lived until you've tried to troubleshoot a hardware problem with Dell's spectacular India-based phone support.

    Never again.

    [IMG]http://thugtooth.net/images/india_phone_3.jpg[/IMG][/QUOTE]

    Oh you mean the guy with the accent so heavy you can't understand him but insists his name is Bill? :P

  4. #4
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Fairfield County, CT
    Posts
    6,870
    [QUOTE=Vinny Patrollie;3540631]You haven't lived until you've tried to troubleshoot a hardware problem with Dell's spectacular India-based phone support.

    Never again.

    [/QUOTE]

    You were not happy with your service, Mr. Vinny ??

  5. #5
    Board Moderator
    Jets Insider VIP
    JetsInsider.com Legend

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    The depths of Despair.
    Posts
    40,306
    [QUOTE=Vinny Patrollie;3540631]You haven't lived until you've tried to troubleshoot a hardware problem with Dell's spectacular India-based phone support.

    Never again.

    [IMG]http://thugtooth.net/images/india_phone_3.jpg[/IMG][/QUOTE]

    We are done with Dell as well.

    Crappy equipt. then the insult of the foreign service....

  6. #6
    [QUOTE=quantum;3540639]Oh you mean the guy with the accent so heavy you can't understand him but insists his name is Bill? :P[/QUOTE]

    Exactly.

    "Hellooo, me name ees Bisujaksha, butch jew keen cawl me "Bill"."

  7. #7
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Bergen County, NJ
    Posts
    20,115
    [QUOTE=Vinny Patrollie;3540667]Exactly.

    "Hellooo, me name ees Bisujaksha, [B]butch jew[/B] keen cawl me "Bill"."[/QUOTE]

    FF2?

    Oh, Scotch Jew.


    :D

  8. #8
    [QUOTE=32green;3540662]We are done with Dell as well.

    Crappy equipt. then the insult of the foreign service....[/QUOTE]

    I sold it on Craigslist and gladly lost $200 on the transaction.

    Found a great US company that hand assembles using high-quality components. It's called Velocity Micro and they're base in Richmond, VA. Great local tech support. Can't recommend them enough.

  9. #9
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Van down by the river
    Posts
    23,032
    [QUOTE=quantum;3540621]Called Toro with what I thought was a pretty straightforward question (Can I connect 2 valves to 1 zone on the timer?). Took 20 minutes to explain to a phone jockey, during which time I got several answers to questions I had not asked.

    So extra flexibility I built into the system (which I never used) is biting me in the butt. Mondays suck. :mad:[/QUOTE]

    Yes...u can connect two valves to one timer, given that the transformer(unless the valves are 110v) has enough oomph to open the valve...which I shouldn't see why it wouldn't, unless you have a huge lawn with 10 different zones.

    We are talking lawn sprinklers here, right?

  10. #10
    Hall Of Fame
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    3,842
    [QUOTE=PlumberKhan;3540754]Yes...u can connect two valves to one timer, given that the transformer(unless the valves are 110v) has enough oomph to open the valve...which I shouldn't see why it wouldn't, unless you have a huge lawn with 10 different zones.

    We are talking lawn sprinklers here, right?[/QUOTE]

    PK to the rescue!:thumbup:

  11. #11
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    LI
    Posts
    20,663
    [QUOTE=PlumberKhan;3540754]Yes...u can connect two valves to one timer, given that the transformer(unless the valves are 110v) has enough oomph to open the valve...which I shouldn't see why it wouldn't, unless you have a huge lawn with 10 different zones.

    We are talking lawn sprinklers here, right?[/QUOTE]

    yes

    Right now 1 timer zone = 1 valve=2 heads. They're those tiny little 3/4" Toro valves. The annoying phone lady said no - there wouldn't be enough voltage to control 2 valves with 1 timer connection. I had planned on rebuilding the manifold anyways down the road, but I may accelerate that timetable.

    All the timers I've looked at have 3 programs only. WTF? jeez, you'd think nonvolatile RAM was so expensive! :rolleyes:

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Follow Us