Thread: Master in I.T. Management or Masters in Economics?

Master in I.T. Management or Masters in Economics?

Hey guys, havent started a thread since the end of the epic season we just enjoyed but wanted to throw a question out there to get random opinions on. I have recently graduated with my BSBA with a major in economics and am currently working as a Consultant for a Home Remodeling and Building Company in Nebraska. The job is decent, pay is above average and I have a flexible schedule, but I am not in love with the job (working with homeowners gets old) and am looking to make a move into something that would be a little more intellectually stimulating and skill driven. I have 10+ years experience in the construction industry ranging from framing to general mangement with construction companies, but I am bored with the industry and aside from starting a real estate development company, I want out.

So I am exploring a couple of opportunities that I have infront of me that involves earning my Masters in a couple of different fields, all of which I am very interested in and believe I would enjoy given the righ opportunities.

Masters in IT Management: I am currently working with the director of the Masters in IT management program at a local private school (Creighton Univeristy) here in Omaha Nebraska. From what I am told the degree focuses around strategic and developmental aspect of IT applications within organizations and companies. I would like to use the degree to either do small business IT consulting or to start a Data Storage Center being that data storage and capacity is in such demand. I also like how this industry is still quickly evolving and if I can get the right skill set I could take advantage (from a business start up point of view) of a good opportunity.