Enjoy an Ads-Free Jets Insider - Become a Jets Insider VIP!
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: It seems that negotiating with Revis is history

Undrafted Free Agent
    Post Thanks / Like

It seems that negotiating with Revis is history

It is time to come to the inevitable conclusion, which is that there will not be any negotiating with Darrelle Revis. And the quicker that the NY Jets come to this conclusion, the better off the Jets will be.

Darrelle Revis wants 16 million per year or goodbye! I have taken a seminar on the "Artof Negotiating" and I negotiate every day as part of my job. I believe that I am very good at it, although I do not want to give the impression that this is what I do for a living; it is not. The most important thing I took away from this one day seminar is this, "In negotiating, you are always looking for a win win senario". You are never looking to "beat" the other side, you should always want both sides to win. Now, if both sides have this attitude, then I believe that the great majority of the time, both sides will be successful. It is time that Mike Tannenbaum and the owner come to this conclusion, so that this situation can finally be resolved. Yes, resolved!

Once the Jets finally wake up, these are the options"
    1. Give Revis what he wants, and move forward as an organization. There is a legal phrase that I often think about in these situations, it is "res ipsa loquitor" and the literal translation is "the event speaks for itself". In this case, I believe that the situation speaks for itself; give in, or don't give in, but whatever you do, stop wasting time trying to negotiate, because it just is not happening; not now, not ever.

2. Trade Revis for the best value that you can. Of course, to an NFC team, definitely not an AFC team, and definitely to the worst team I can find, so that if it is for draft picks, the picks will be high and not low.