Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29

Thread: Question about being forced out of bounds

  1. #1
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    627
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question about being forced out of bounds

    Just a quick question about NFL rules regarding going out of bounds. At the end of the game, Sanchez throws a beautiful ball on a rope to Braylon. He catches it, gets shoved by the safety, and he takes a few steps and goes out of bounds. Now sometimes, if a player is getting tackled before he gets out of bounds, but the play ends up out of bounds, the clock doesn't stop because he was "tackled" in bounds. I always thought it came down to if the player went out of bounds on his own volition. If he did, clock stops. If the defender forces his momentum out of bounds, clock doesn't stop.

    So my question is, did Braylon just run out of bounds then? This makes sense, he made a nice grab on the sidelines and his first instinct was to get a few feet in and stop the clock. However, why wouldn't he just try to score then? Was it possibly because he was off-balance and his momentum had been altered enough by the safety to force him out?

    I mean, I'm not complaining. We won the game and I couldn't be happier. I was just confused about this rule and wanted some clarification. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Jets Insider VIP
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    15,113
    Post Thanks / Like
    He caught a pretty good shove, and his momentum probably would've carried him that way anyway. That said, the new rule is that if the ref judges that the player would've come down with both feet, one is acceptible.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    9,511
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=Johnny Rico;3830806]Just a quick question about NFL rules regarding going out of bounds. At the end of the game, Sanchez throws a beautiful ball on a rope to Braylon. He catches it, gets shoved by the safety, and he takes a few steps and goes out of bounds. Now sometimes, if a player is getting tackled before he gets out of bounds, but the play ends up out of bounds, the clock doesn't stop because he was "tackled" in bounds. I always thought it came down to if the player went out of bounds on his own volition. If he did, clock stops. If the defender forces his momentum out of bounds, clock doesn't stop.

    So my question is, did Braylon just run out of bounds then? This makes sense, he made a nice grab on the sidelines and his first instinct was to get a few feet in and stop the clock. However, why wouldn't he just try to score then? Was it possibly because he was off-balance and his momentum had been altered enough by the safety to force him out?

    I mean, I'm not complaining. We won the game and I couldn't be happier. I was just confused about this rule and wanted some clarification. Thanks in advance.[/QUOTE]

    Your understanding of the rules is wrong. If a player goes out of bounds, the clock stops whether he was forced out or not.

    Edwards was knocked out of bounds.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    9,511
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=JumbalayaJet;3830808]He caught a pretty good shove, and his momentum probably would've carried him that way anyway. That said, the new rule is that if the ref judges that the player would've come down with both feet, one is acceptible.[/QUOTE]

    That's not the rule. What are you talking about?

  5. #5
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    8,270
    Post Thanks / Like
    The rule used to be a force out was judged if the player "would have gotten both feet in"... that recently changed (thank god) to the player has to get both feet in no matter what. As far as the clock stopping... you are thinking of plays where a receiver gets knocked backwards out of bounds... so although he goes out of bounds they rule "loss of forward motion" and thus the player was inbounds when the play ended. If the player is going forward and lands/steps out of bounds the clock will always stop.

  6. #6
    Jets Insider VIP
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    15,113
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=Roger Vick;3830813]That's not the rule. What are you talking about?[/QUOTE]Guess it was changed according to the poster above. Seems odd that the rule would be changed so soon.

  7. #7
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    627
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=Roger Vick;3830812]Your understanding of the rules is wrong. If a player goes out of bounds, the clock stops whether he was forced out or not.

    Edwards was knocked out of bounds.[/QUOTE]

    Alright, thanks. I am just mistaken then.

  8. #8
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Clark University, by way of West Orange, NJ
    Posts
    1,812
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=Roger Vick;3830812]Your understanding of the rules is wrong. If a player goes out of bounds, the clock stops whether he was forced out or not.

    Edwards was knocked out of bounds.[/QUOTE]


    Unless he is judged to have been wrapped up and his progress stopped in bounds, and then he goes out of bounds.

  9. #9
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Upper East Side
    Posts
    6,734
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=JumbalayaJet;3830819]Guess it was changed according to the poster above. Seems odd that the rule would be changed so soon.[/QUOTE]

    No it's not. The NFL got rid of the "force out rule" to get rid of subjective ref analysis. You need two feet.

    EDIT: You changed it before I responded.

  10. #10
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    8,270
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=Johnny Rico;3830820]Alright, thanks. I am just mistaken then.[/QUOTE]

    See my post above.

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    9,511
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=njherdfan;3830824]Unless he is judged to have been wrapped up and his progress stopped in bounds, and then he goes out of bounds.[/QUOTE]

    Correct.

  12. #12
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    6,895
    Post Thanks / Like
    In regard to the clock stopping or not, it all comes down to forward progress. If the player's forward progress keeps him in bounds, then the clock keeps rolling.

  13. #13
    Jets Insider VIP
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    15,113
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=Austin;3830826]No it's not. The NFL got rid of the "force out rule" to get rid of subjective ref analysis. You need two feet.

    EDIT: You changed it before I responded.[/QUOTE]It was the right thing to do, just a bit suprised they did. How long did the "one-foot" rule last?

  14. #14
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    627
    Post Thanks / Like
    Actually, after a bit of searching on the interwebz, it seems that the clock doesn't stop if the forward momentum is halted in bounds. But that didn't happen.

    Edit: Probably didn't need to do any searching, came back and this was already posted. Thanks for all the help!

  15. #15
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    8,270
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=Johnny Rico;3830837]Actually, after a bit of searching on the interwebz, it seems that the clock doesn't stop if the forward momentum is halted in bounds. But that didn't happen.[/QUOTE]

    Exactly. He'd have to go backwards basically for that to happen.

  16. #16
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    6,197
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=JumbalayaJet;3830808]He caught a pretty good shove, and his momentum probably would've carried him that way anyway. That said, the new rule is that if the ref judges that the player would've come down with both feet, one is acceptible.[/QUOTE]

    I think you are talking about the old "force out rule" which no longer exists when ruling if a player got 2 feet in. If a player jumps in the air to cathc a ball, and is pushed out of bounds, the pass is incomplete, regardless of whether he would have gotten 2 feet in without the push.

  17. #17
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    6,197
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=Johnny Rico;3830806]Just a quick question about NFL rules regarding going out of bounds. At the end of the game, Sanchez throws a beautiful ball on a rope to Braylon. He catches it, gets shoved by the safety, and he takes a few steps and goes out of bounds. Now sometimes, if a player is getting tackled before he gets out of bounds, but the play ends up out of bounds, the clock doesn't stop because he was "tackled" in bounds. I always thought it came down to if the player went out of bounds on his own volition. If he did, clock stops. If the defender forces his momentum out of bounds, clock doesn't stop.

    So my question is, did Braylon just run out of bounds then? This makes sense, he made a nice grab on the sidelines and his first instinct was to get a few feet in and stop the clock. However, why wouldn't he just try to score then? Was it possibly because he was off-balance and his momentum had been altered enough by the safety to force him out?

    I mean, I'm not complaining. We won the game and I couldn't be happier. I was just confused about this rule and wanted some clarification. Thanks in advance.[/QUOTE]

    Not positive, but I think as long as the player is running somewhat forward in an attempt to advance the ball, the clock will stop. I believe that if the player is running backwards (and sometimes sideways) to get out of bounds, and not attempting to gain yardage, the ref can call for the clock to continue running on the play.

    Braylon was definitely moving forward when he stepped out of bounds and was clearly forced out, so there was no way for the refs to keep the clock running.
    Last edited by Gastineau99; 11-23-2010 at 11:36 AM.

  18. #18
    Practice Squad
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    276
    Post Thanks / Like
    I think the 2nd poster didn't read the original post...two completely different rules and situations.

  19. #19
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    627
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=ironman61;3830871]I think the 2nd poster didn't read the original post...two completely different rules and situations.[/QUOTE]

    Yup.

  20. #20
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    6,336
    Post Thanks / Like
    That's not the rule...

    It depends...if he's tackled in bounds but the ball is out of bounds the clock stops...

    If his body is out of bounds it is considered part of the ball so the clock stops...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Follow Us