Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Well this is just depressing

Board Moderator

Well this is just depressing

I'm glad I graduated from college. But this reaffirms my belief that a college diploma is a very very expensive piece of paper

And if you read through through the comments, oy how depressing...

[url]http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/19/business/economy/19grads.html?pagewanted=print[/url]

[B][SIZE="3"]Many With New College Degree Find the Job Market Humbling[/SIZE][/B]

By CATHERINE RAMPELL

The individual stories are familiar. The chemistry major tending bar. The classics major answering phones. The Italian studies major sweeping aisles at Wal-Mart.

Now evidence is emerging that the damage wrought by the sour economy is more widespread than just a few careers led astray or postponed. Even for college graduates — the people who were most protected from the slings and arrows of recession — the outlook is rather bleak.

Employment rates for new college graduates have fallen sharply in the last two years, as have starting salaries for those who can find work. What’s more, only half of the jobs landed by these new graduates even require a college degree, reviving debates about whether higher education is “worth it” after all.

“I have friends with the same degree as me, from a worse school, but because of who they knew or when they happened to graduate, they’re in much better jobs,” said Kyle Bishop, 23, a 2009 graduate of the University of Pittsburgh who has spent the last two years waiting tables, delivering beer, working at a bookstore and entering data. “It’s more about luck than anything else.”