Enjoy an Ads-Free Jets Insider - Become a Jets Insider VIP!

Thread: Surviving TWO Plane Crashes, in One Lifetime

JetsInsider.com Legend
    Post Thanks / Like

Surviving TWO Plane Crashes, in One Lifetime

[url]http://www.foxnews.com/us/2011/06/26/indiana-basketball-standout-survives-2nd-plane-crash/?test=latestnews[/url]

[QUOTE]Austin Hatch, 16, of Fort Wayne, Ind., was in critical condition Saturday in a northern Michigan hospital after the Friday evening crash that killed his father, Dr. Stephen Hatch, and his stepmother, Kim. Austin and his pilot father had survived a 2003 crash that killed Austin's mother and two siblings.[/QUOTE]

Read more: [url]http://www.foxnews.com/us/2011/06/26/indiana-basketball-standout-survives-2nd-plane-crash/#ixzz1QUWTPdcR[/url]

Not sure if lucky, or cursed.

All League
    Post Thanks / Like
    If I am a pilot and I kill my wife and kids in a plane crash, no way I ever pilot a plane again...

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like
    Sign this beast.

Hall of Fame
    Charter JI Member

Post Thanks / Like
    ...because Austin Hatch is 'Unbreakable'

All League
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=JetFreak89;4053828]If I am a pilot and I kill my wife and kids in a plane crash, no way I ever pilot a plane again...[/QUOTE]

Agreed...IMO he put proving a point ahead of safety when he decided to risk flying again with his surviving son. That poor kid.:(

Banned
    Post Thanks / Like
    [QUOTE=JetFreak89;4053828]If I am a pilot and I kill my wife and kids in a plane crash, no way I ever pilot a plane again...[/QUOTE]

Tough call. I got myself, wife and son into a pretty bad rollover accident a few years ago that we were all very lucky to walk away from. It was extremely stressful to get back behind the wheel with them after that, and I made sure to buy a vehicle that had a very small chance of ever rolling over, but I had to get back on the horse. It doesn't really bother me anymore, I just get in the car and go without thinking about it.