Thread: Techies...need help..external HD

Board Administrator
    JI Founder & President

Images

Techies...need help..external HD

I have a 1TB Western Digital external hard drive that's around 2 years old. Can't begin to tell you all the important stuff on there. Anyway, all of a sudden my computer's aren't recognizing it when I put the USB cord in. Never had this problem before. It sounds like it's starting up when I put it in and makes a kind of a whiny sound then just goes silent and is not showing up on the computer. I tried it both on my laptop and desktop and tried a new usb cord today. Kinda baffled. Any advice?

I'm no techie, but I had the exact same problem with my WD external HD. It would sound like it was starting up, run for 5 seconds or so, then repeat, but never open up. Must be a design flaw or something.

Anyway, I have a new Dell desktop and a Dell laptop and it wouldn't work with either of them. Both had Windows 7 on them. Then, just out of curiosity, I tried it with an older Dell desktop I had in the basement and for some reason it worked and I was able to move the data I needed. Tghe older machine had Windows XP, but I have no idea if that made the difference or not.

Probably not much help, but try it with an older machine if you have access to one.

Not a techie, but first order of business should be to go to a computer store and give them your 1TB HD and have them back it up.

My external HD has my life on it, as I'm sure yours does...wouldn't want to risk it being destroyed, formatted, or infected by a computer that can't read it.

with any luck in is just the usb cord or even the USB port on the HD going bad. If it is actually getting power and winding up but not reading the drive could be damaged. The more you try to start it the more damage you may cause. It can be recover at like best buy but they will cost more then the HD to recover. Computers suck. Learn from mistakes and make triple BUs of everything IMO.

Jets Insider VIP