Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another website has it in for the Jets

Another website has it in for the Jets

This is why I hope the Jets go 16-0 so website like this can stuff it

We've chronicled the New York Jets' mess quite a bit lately.
    And we're at it again thanks to this cringe-worthy quote from head coach Rex Ryan.

Here's what he said on Michael Kay's radio show in New York recently (via USA Today, emphasis ours):

"I know I'm a great coach. What makes me a great coach is the guys that coach with me and the players that play for me, and everything else this organization has for me. It's hard for me to look at myself not being successful. I don't even see (getting fired) as a possibility."

A couple things are at play here: 1) Ryan is once again showing off his extreme confidence, and 2) Regardless of how bad things may look the head coach has to be the one to rally the troops together amid heavy skepticism from outsiders.

Unfortunately, this is more likely to come back to slap Ryan in the face just like his consecutive Super Bowl predictions did a few years ago.
    Why? The Jets are switching to an outdated offensive system and hope a lifelong quarterback can contribute while playing a bunch of different positions.

So even if there's nothing to talk of Tim Tebow inevitably replacing Mark Sanchez the chances this team does much of anything in 2012 are slim to none.

And thanks to ridiculous internal expectations you better believe the Jets' front office, like all others in the NFL, will blame their "great coach" when things start falling apart.

Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/rex-r...#ixzz25XX8sLa8

After awhile, all the anti-Jets talk just gets kinda lost in the background (for me). I mean, you realize that we could go 11-5 and have the #1 ranked D and everyone would just say that we overachieved or that the season was a fluke.

There's always gonna be anti-Jets talk, so you just gotta let it go.

Jets Insider VIP