Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 53

Thread: Should the Holmes catch have been a TD?

  1. #1

    Should the Holmes catch have been a TD?

    I know it was tough to reverse, but did he get that 2nd foot in bounds?

  2. #2
    All League
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Floral Park, NY
    Posts
    2,948
    no, hand hit first out of bounds

  3. #3
    All League
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,648
    It should have been, but his hand touched out of bounds, before the 2nd foot came in

  4. #4
    Practice Squad
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    North Jersey
    Posts
    405
    No. He put his left hand down out of bounds before his right foot came down in bounds. Great catch, but unfortunately out of bounds. Refs made the correct call.

  5. #5
    It was a good call and the replay indicated so... His hand hit the ground out of bounds prior to his second foot landed....

    Great Effort. Great Catch though

  6. #6
    All League
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    3,594
    I think if it had initially been ruled a TD, it would've been real, real hard to overturn.

  7. #7
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    6,359
    Both feet in, but hand touched out of bounds before the second foot came down. Correct call by the phony zebras.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by JetStream View Post
    no, hand hit first out of bounds
    This.

    It was very close. But it was a definite "no TD".

  9. #9
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    W. Germany
    Posts
    1,178
    According to the rules: No.

  10. #10
    it was actually a great call by the ref on the field. These replacement refs apparently have the same 20/20 vision as the "regular" refs, maybe even better. Once they get more and more comfortable with the nuance of being an NFL ref we won't notice the difference.

  11. #11
    Hall Of Fame
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Manalapan, NJ/Boca Raton, Fl
    Posts
    15,569
    Quote Originally Posted by augustiniak View Post
    I know it was tough to reverse, but did he get that 2nd foot in bounds?
    Only if the rules are meaningless.

    His hand was clearly on the ground, out of bounds, before he got his 2nd foot down.

    By rule no catch. Easy call.

  12. #12
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    light-years ahead
    Posts
    2,483
    Should've been but Holmes mucked it up.

  13. #13
    Hall Of Fame
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Manalapan, NJ/Boca Raton, Fl
    Posts
    15,569
    Quote Originally Posted by stanner View Post
    I think if it had initially been ruled a TD, it would've been real, real hard to overturn.
    Only for Stevie Wonder, it was clearly not a catch.

  14. #14
    A solid, professional reciever would know not to put your hand to the ground in that situation. You catch the ball, maintain possession, and get both feet in. A professional doesn't reach down to break his fall.

    But, unfortunately, it was Santonio Holmes, so he was unable to get both feet in bounds before he put his hand on the ground to break his fall.

  15. #15
    Hall Of Fame
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Manalapan, NJ/Boca Raton, Fl
    Posts
    15,569
    Quote Originally Posted by jetrider View Post
    Should've been but Holmes mucked it up.
    Quote Originally Posted by John in CT View Post
    A solid, professional reciever would know not to put your hand to the ground in that situation. You catch the ball, maintain possession, and get both feet in. A professional doesn't reach down to break his fall.

    But, unfortunately, it was Santonio Holmes, so he was unable to get both feet in bounds before he put his hand on the ground to break his fall.

    OMG, this is as ridiculous as it gets.

  16. #16
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    7,592
    Helluva catch but no it was the right call...

    Left hand touched out of bounds before his right foot landed in bounds...

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Green + White View Post
    According to the rules: No.
    as opposed to...?

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by revischrist View Post
    it was actually a great call by the ref on the field. These replacement refs apparently have the same 20/20 vision as the "regular" refs, maybe even better. Once they get more and more comfortable with the nuance of being an NFL ref we won't notice the difference.
    You obviously didnt watch SF vs GB game. There was some horrid officiating going on in that game.

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by bobby2times View Post
    You obviously didnt watch SF vs GB game. There was some horrid officiating going on in that game.
    You are one of those guys that forget about all the crappy calls the regular refs made on a weekly basis. Why do you think the NFL instituted instant replay in the first place?

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Jet Nut View Post
    OMG, this is as ridiculous as it gets.
    Indeed.

    +1

    I don't even like Holmes, and find this criticism laughable. It was an amazing effort and display of his talent he even caught it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Follow Us