Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Overtime question

  1. #1
    Hall of Fame
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    16,334
    Post Thanks / Like

    Overtime question

    Lets say the team that is kicking off in OT does an onside kick and recovers it. If they kick a FG is the game over?

  2. #2
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14,682
    Post Thanks / Like
    I don't think you're allowed to do that. Each team MUST get at least one possession.

  3. #3
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Westchester
    Posts
    1,408
    Post Thanks / Like
    I was wondering the same thing myself . . .

  4. #4
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    22,105
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by LockeJET View Post
    Lets say the team that is kicking off in OT does an onside kick and recovers it. If they kick a FG is the game over?
    Yes.

    Both teams have to have the "opportunity" to possess the ball. The receiving team failing to recover the kick is an opportunity.

    This is actually in one of the NFL's rule book examples.

    Quote Originally Posted by McGinley View Post
    I don't think you're allowed to do that. Each team MUST get at least one possession.
    Yes it is allowed. It's considered an opportunity to possess. Same if McCourty fumbled in OT. Jets couldve kicked a FG on 1st down and won the game.

  5. #5
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14,682
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by SMC View Post
    Yes.

    Both teams have to have the "opportunity" to possess the ball. The receiving team failing to recover the kick is an opportunity.

    This is actually in one of the NFL's rule book examples.



    Yes it is allowed. It's considered an opportunity to possess. Same if McCourty fumbled in OT. Jets couldve kicked a FG on 1st down and won the game.
    Wow, really? That's crazy.

  6. #6
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Westchester
    Posts
    1,408
    Post Thanks / Like
    Well, also - does the kicking team's failure to recover also count as their opportunity?

    I suppose it would have to, otherwise why not just take a shot at the ball and hope you can hold to a FG . . .

  7. #7
    Hall of Fame
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    16,334
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by SMC View Post
    Yes.

    Both teams have to have the "opportunity" to possess the ball. The receiving team failing to recover the kick is an opportunity.

    This is actually in one of the NFL's rule book examples.



    Yes it is allowed. It's considered an opportunity to possess. Same if McCourty fumbled in OT. Jets couldve kicked a FG on 1st down and won the game.
    If you go onside and NE never touches the ball and the Jets recover, techically NE never had possession. No?

  8. #8
    Undrafted Free Agent
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like
    It is allowed and has happened in a game IIRC, i could be wrong.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    22,105
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by LockeJET View Post
    If you go onside and NE never touches the ball and the Jets recover, techically NE never had possession. No?
    It's "opportunity" to possess, not actual possession. A kickoff that travels 10 yds is a live ball, able to be possessed by either side. Hence, there is an opportunity to possess.

    Again, guys, the important word is not "possession." It is "opportunity."

  10. #10
    Hall of Fame
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    16,334
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by SMC View Post
    It's "opportunity" to possess, not actual possession. A kickoff that travels 10 yds is a live ball, able to be possessed by either side. Hence, there is an opportunity to possess.

    Again, guys, the important word is not "possession." It is "opportunity."
    Thanks! I think we may see this in a game. Even if you dont recover, you can hold the team to a FG and still get the ball back.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Follow Us