Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Wireless Router Help

  1. #1
    All League
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,683

    Wireless Router Help

    So my Belkin N+ wireless router continues to go in and out and in and out. Thought it was the modem, Cablevision guy came out yesterday and I am still having the same issues now.

    What can I do to this damn thing to make it work and make it work well? I called the tech support a couple weeks ago and they told me I was out of warranty and they could not help me unless I signed up for some sort of care package for like $50 bucks or something like that.

    I have had this thing for 3+ years, probably closer to 4 years. Is it time for a new router all together? Any tricks to making these things work well or better?

    Any suggestions would be great. Thanks mates.

  2. #2
    Board Moderator
    Jets Insider VIP
    Charter JI Member

    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    5,702
    Sounds simple, but did you try unplugging it and then plugging it back in? Sometimes a hard reset is all it takes to regain a signal.

  3. #3
    All League
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,683
    I pulled the plug a few times. No luck.

  4. #4
    Highest Negative Rep
    In JetsInsider History

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    0
    Routers die after a few years. I've gone through 4 in the last decade.

    Go to Best Buy. Grab a Linksys for $49. Done.

    Also, if you have some wi-fi dead spots in your house, ask me what a Repeater is.

    SAR I

  5. #5
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Wildcat Country
    Posts
    5,097
    Quote Originally Posted by SouthTown View Post
    So my Belkin N+ wireless router continues to go in and out and in and out. Thought it was the modem, Cablevision guy came out yesterday and I am still having the same issues now.

    What can I do to this damn thing to make it work and make it work well? I called the tech support a couple weeks ago and they told me I was out of warranty and they could not help me unless I signed up for some sort of care package for like $50 bucks or something like that.

    I have had this thing for 3+ years, probably closer to 4 years. Is it time for a new router all together? Any tricks to making these things work well or better?

    Any suggestions would be great. Thanks mates.
    You're asking for troubleshooting tips for a $100 piece of hardware that's three to four years old? Here's the tip...toss it. Hardware goes bad. Hardware goes weak.

  6. #6
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    great midwest -well not so great
    Posts
    9,611
    wow can you feel the love? Truth be told the router is pretty old, you could check on Belkin's site to see if the router has a firmware update for it...may or may not help the issue...but routers anymore are fairly cheap. Buy a new one.

  7. #7
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    great midwest -well not so great
    Posts
    9,611
    Quote Originally Posted by SAR I View Post
    Routers die after a few years. I've gone through 4 in the last decade.

    Go to Best Buy. Grab a Linksys for $49. Done.

    Also, if you have some wi-fi dead spots in your house, ask me what a Repeater is.

    SAR I
    Damn porn downloads....

  8. #8
    All League
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,683
    Quote Originally Posted by SAR I View Post
    Routers die after a few years. I've gone through 4 in the last decade.

    Go to Best Buy. Grab a Linksys for $49. Done.

    Also, if you have some wi-fi dead spots in your house, ask me what a Repeater is.

    SAR I
    Alright SAR, what's a repeater?

  9. #9
    All League
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,683
    Quote Originally Posted by BushyTheBeaver View Post
    You're asking for troubleshooting tips for a $100 piece of hardware that's three to four years old? Here's the tip...toss it. Hardware goes bad. Hardware goes weak.
    Got it.

    That's the advice I was looking for, just needed to confirm.

  10. #10
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    (┌・。・)┌ lolgfy
    Posts
    33,129
    Quote Originally Posted by Peebag View Post
    wow can you feel the love? Truth be told the router is pretty old, you could check on Belkin's site to see if the router has a firmware update for it...may or may not help the issue...but routers anymore are fairly cheap. Buy a new one.
    This.
    Eventually they just go. When the power came back on after the hurricane mine just got fried.

    Picked up this one shortly afterwards and its been awesome, super easy setup. Had all of my devices reconfigured for the new router in no time.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Cisco+Li...&skuId=6891322

  11. #11
    All League
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,683
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishooked View Post
    This.
    Eventually they just go. When the power came back on after the hurricane mine just got fried.

    Picked up this one shortly afterwards and its been awesome, super easy setup. Had all of my devices reconfigured for the new router in no time.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Cisco+Li...&skuId=6891322


    Is a 150 dollar router really necessary? What about like a 50-100 dollar one?

  12. #12
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    (┌・。・)┌ lolgfy
    Posts
    33,129
    Quote Originally Posted by SouthTown View Post
    Is a 150 dollar router really necessary? What about like a 50-100 dollar one?
    It depends on what kind of range you need and other personal preferences, really. Im partial to Linksys/Cisco, and it was the only one in the store that had what I wanted.

  13. #13
    All League
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,683
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishooked View Post
    It depends on what kind of range you need and other personal preferences, really. Im partial to Linksys/Cisco, and it was the only one in the store that had what I wanted.
    I have a 1400 square foot apartment on the top floor of a building in Weehawken. The router is in our "spare bedroom" ie my office. We mostly use the laptops in the family room which is through the steel wall on the other side of the spare bedroom.

    Don't need major range but these steel walls are a bit of a pain in the ass...

    Does that help? I have no idea.

  14. #14
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    great midwest -well not so great
    Posts
    9,611
    Quote Originally Posted by SouthTown View Post
    I have a 1400 square foot apartment on the top floor of a building in Weehawken. The router is in our "spare bedroom" ie my office. We mostly use the laptops in the family room which is through the steel wall on the other side of the spare bedroom.

    Don't need major range but these steel walls are a bit of a pain in the ass...

    Does that help? I have no idea.
    ping SAR about repeaters

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishooked View Post
    This.
    Eventually they just go. When the power came back on after the hurricane mine just got fried.

    Picked up this one shortly afterwards and its been awesome, super easy setup. Had all of my devices reconfigured for the new router in no time.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Cisco+Li...&skuId=6891322
    FWIW - I think the router above (4200) was rated as having the best wireless data transfer rate last year. It was the router of choice for wireless gamers or anyone wanting the highest data transfers.

  16. #16
    All League
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,683
    Alright...so long story short I went over to Staples (I had 65 dollars in Staples Rewards credit) and grabbed a Netgear unit, looked at reviews on CNET, great reviews etc.


    Get home, Speedtest.net, getting about the same speed as I used to get...


    What does everyone else get on speedtest.net? Test it out and let me know.

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by SouthTown View Post
    Alright...so long story short I went over to Staples (I had 65 dollars in Staples Rewards credit) and grabbed a Netgear unit, looked at reviews on CNET, great reviews etc.


    Get home, Speedtest.net, getting about the same speed as I used to get...


    What does everyone else get on speedtest.net? Test it out and let me know.
    28 down and 5 up at 10pm
    Last edited by Broadway Joe; 12-08-2012 at 11:14 PM.

  18. #18
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    (┌・。・)┌ lolgfy
    Posts
    33,129
    Quote Originally Posted by Broadway Joe View Post
    FWIW - I think the router above (4200) was rated as having the best wireless data transfer rate last year. It was the router of choice for wireless gamers or anyone wanting the highest data transfers.
    I think it's one of those A/G/N routers, I think the next standard for wireless is AC (I think) and those routers are upwards of 180 or more.

    We upgraded our internet connection because my wife works from home and needs some serious data transfer, as do I when Im working from home - having an old router isn't quite going to cut it. When we're both using separate VPN connections at the same time we haven't had a single issue.

    It's been rock solid, definitely no regrets with this purchase.

  19. #19
    Highest Negative Rep
    In JetsInsider History

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SouthTown View Post
    Alright SAR, what's a repeater?
    Quote Originally Posted by Peebag View Post
    ping SAR about repeaters


    It's a device that takes your wifi signal and extends the range to areas of your house that the router can't reach. It looks like a router, but it's not.

    I've got 4 levels. Router is on the main floor and covers the basement and 2nd floor but can't reach the 3rd floor. By putting the repeater on the 2nd floor (where the wifi signal is good) it creates a second wifi zone that reaches the 3rd floor (where the wifi signal used to be bad).

    http://www.ampedwireless.com/product...ml?forcefull=1

    This puppy is a dream, provides fantastic coverage where the Fios router simply couldn't. Saves me $50 a month which is what Fios would have charged me to extend my coverage up there.

    SAR I

  20. #20
    Highest Negative Rep
    In JetsInsider History

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SouthTown View Post
    Alright...so long story short I went over to Staples (I had 65 dollars in Staples Rewards credit) and grabbed a Netgear unit, looked at reviews on CNET, great reviews etc.

    Get home, Speedtest.net, getting about the same speed as I used to get...

    What does everyone else get on speedtest.net? Test it out and let me know.


    The router doesn't make much of a difference in speed. It's really about the provider. I have Fios quantum, 150 up 65 down (Ethernet). Speed shown is from my aforementioned repeater on 3rd floor.

    SAR I

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Follow Us