Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: TV Suddenly Has No Sound (*****es I Need Help)

  1. #1
    JetsInsider.com Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    凸(⊙▂⊙✖ )
    Posts
    30,910
    Post Thanks / Like

    TV Suddenly Has No Sound (*****es I Need Help)

    I have picture but no sound.
    Its not the Onkyo receiver as I have sound when I use my PS3 and also my DVD player, yet when I try to use the TV (HDMI connection) from the TV to my cable box/dvr combo.

    Could it be a defective cable box?

  2. #2
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Westchester
    Posts
    1,409
    Post Thanks / Like
    Signal flow is your friend. Make the shortest connection from TV to box. Check audio. See if recorded content has audio. Change input on tv to terrestrial signal and see if you get white noise. Check to make sure volume is actually up by using the hardware controls on the tv itself.

    If your box is giving you a picture it's rather unlikely the sound is somehow broken on it. Test another HDMI cable as well if you have it. Also, of you have a camcorder or such, see if you get audio out of the TV via the RCA inputs.

  3. #3
    All League
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    3,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Step 1: Insert your hearing aid back into your ear.

    Step 2: Try what adpz suggested above. Always want to test directly (cable box to TV) before you start dealing with receivers and such.

    Good luck.

  4. #4
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Staten Island
    Posts
    8,696
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishooked View Post
    I have picture but no sound.
    Its not the Onkyo receiver as I have sound when I use my PS3 and also my DVD player, yet when I try to use the TV (HDMI connection) from the TV to my cable box/dvr combo.

    Could it be a defective cable box?
    1) Get off the couch

    2) Run to the TV

    3) Retrieve remote you inexplicably store there

    4) Check to see if TV is muted with said remote

    5) Double check with new batteries for said remote.

  5. #5
    All League
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    It's all relative
    Posts
    3,443
    Post Thanks / Like
    Unplug TV.

    Wait 60 seconds.

    Plug TV back in.

    Check volume.

  6. #6
    JetsInsider.com Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    凸(⊙▂⊙✖ )
    Posts
    30,910
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by adpz View Post
    Signal flow is your friend. Make the shortest connection from TV to box. Check audio. See if recorded content has audio. Change input on tv to terrestrial signal and see if you get white noise. Check to make sure volume is actually up by using the hardware controls on the tv itself.

    If your box is giving you a picture it's rather unlikely the sound is somehow broken on it. Test another HDMI cable as well if you have it. Also, of you have a camcorder or such, see if you get audio out of the TV via the RCA inputs.
    Thank you, my friend, for the only serious reply out of the lot of you.


    Frankly its what I had expected, I forgot that I was using an optical cable to the receiver, somehow my setting for optical got changed to 'nothing' which is what caused this somehow.

    Dammit, in a way I was going to use this as an excuse to get a new receiver

  7. #7
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9,927
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishooked View Post
    I have picture but no sound.
    Its not the Onkyo receiver as I have sound when I use my PS3 and also my DVD player, yet when I try to use the TV (HDMI connection) from the TV to my cable box/dvr combo.

    Could it be a defective cable box?
    Find a way to get to your audio output settings on the TV, and just make sure it is set on HDMI and not some other output format. This happens with my TV from time to time where there is no volume, because for whatever reason the output format gets switched, even without me doing anything like that on the remote. If you have time warner cable, your audio output range would be under devices, after you hit settings on your remote.

  8. #8
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    16,710
    Post Thanks / Like
    ask yourself: "what would 32 do?"



    then do the complete opposite.

  9. #9
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Staten Island
    Posts
    9,878
    Post Thanks / Like
    How far back are you sitting from the TV? Are you sure you're in hearing range?

  10. #10
    All League
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    It's all relative
    Posts
    3,443
    Post Thanks / Like
    At 9:32 PM-

    Quote Originally Posted by Fishooked View Post
    Thank you, my friend, for the only serious reply out of the lot of you.


    Frankly its what I had expected, I forgot that I was using an optical cable to the receiver, somehow my setting for optical got changed to 'nothing' which is what caused this somehow.

    Dammit, in a way I was going to use this as an excuse to get a new receiver

    At 10:09 PM-

    Quote Originally Posted by Jetfan16 View Post
    Find a way to get to your audio output settings on the TV, and just make sure it is set on HDMI and not some other output format. This happens with my TV from time to time where there is no volume, because for whatever reason the output format gets switched, even without me doing anything like that on the remote. If you have time warner cable, your audio output range would be under devices, after you hit settings on your remote.

  11. #11
    Hall Of Fame
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    24,086
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishooked View Post
    I forgot that I was using an optical cable to the receiver,
    Anyone else think one of his children instructed him to hit Volume+ on remote?

  12. #12
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    6,941
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Timmy® View Post
    Anyone else think one of his children instructed him to hit Volume+ on remote?
    Yes, and when that failed, they had to actually do it for him.

  13. #13
    All Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    7,194
    Post Thanks / Like
    First thing you're gonna wanna do is get a generator, obviously.

  14. #14
    JetsInsider.com Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    凸(⊙▂⊙✖ )
    Posts
    30,910
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Big L View Post
    At 9:32 PM-




    At 10:09 PM-












    My first opportunity of the day to use my new material.

    By the time JF16 replied I had it figured out though, but yes he was actually correct as well. My Onko has a selector for digital output for my VIDEO1 line, it should have been OPTICAL but was blank for some reason. Changed it to optical, good to go

  15. #15
    JetsInsider.com Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    凸(⊙▂⊙✖ )
    Posts
    30,910
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by thebigragu View Post
    How far back are you sitting from the TV? Are you sure you're in hearing range?
    This if course, is always a required response when TVs are being referenced

    Quote Originally Posted by Timmy® View Post
    Anyone else think one of his children instructed him to hit Volume+ on remote?

    LOL, Im the IT guy for this whole household. The pay is crap, so they can't complain about the level of service around here.

  16. #16
    All League
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    It's all relative
    Posts
    3,443
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishooked View Post

    By the time JF16 replied I had it figured out though, but yes he was actually correct as well. My Onko has a selector for digital output for my VIDEO1 line, it should have been OPTICAL but was blank for some reason. Changed it to optical, good to go
    Yes, I thought that was self evident from your post at 9:32 PM.

    Call me crazy.

  17. #17
    Jets Insider VIP
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    One hour. from MetLife
    Posts
    21,447
    Post Thanks / Like
    Kick the TV or Receiver whichever you want to replace for a newer version.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Follow Us