Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My Health Insurance Premium Doubled

Board Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like

Thumbs down My Health Insurance Premium Doubled

I've been working for the same company for the past almost 6 years. I've been on the same health plan for all 6 six of those years. (Huge multi-national corporation with over 50,000 employees)

If I don't enroll and "select" a new policy, my coverage will be dropped. (I think most full-time employed people up until this point would continue receiving the coverage they had in the previous year had they taken no action, as was the case with me for the past 5 years).

So if I were to "choose" to continue on the same exact plan that I'm on now, my payment, per pay period, has doubled. Just to give some perspective on that. My bi-monthly contribution was $73.12 per pay period, it is now $ 153.69. I have not altered my coverage in any way. In those six years, I've seen my salary increase very modestly, less than 2% since I first started this job. (BTW - my current pre-tax salary is $78,000). My contribution in the form of my per pay period insurance premium in those 6 years actually dropped over time. Until now.

I am not posting this as to lend support to a particular side or political party on this, but seriously what the eff? All I've been hearing the past few months and years is that if I have health insurance and am satisfied with it, I will not lose it. But I didn't ever hear that my contribution would increase, let alone double?! Sorry to say but this is utter freakin bull$hit and I really do get the impression that my new premium amount is solely to subside this new system.

I have no doubt that this law will eventually be repealed, but I suspect the new costs as result will never decrease again.

Thanks a lot.

All League
    Post Thanks / Like