Enjoy an Ads-Free Jets Insider - Become a Jets Insider VIP!

Thread: 5ever

All League
    Post Thanks / Like
    Since your Avatar seems to be increasingly changing at a geometric rate after months of the generic X-eyed yellow smiley, I have to ask: Who was the last avatar with the b/w band photo? Looked like the Smiths with a bloated Morrissey and Chrissie Hynde hiding in the background? Couldn't ID the group, and it's still bugging me....

Or was it just a group photo of the Young Conservative club in Texas who sold affirmative action baked goods? :D

Hall Of Fame
    Post Thanks / Like
    That was a funny story about the bake sale. Not exactly how I'd go about it and all, but it made me chuckle...

[b]It was a photo of the Pixies. [/b] Frank Black was in the center. They were young, probably 21 back then.

The Pixies are the shiz-nit and after I heard Where is My Mind I started playing the guitar and haven't stopped since. (Where is my Mind is on the Fight Club soundtrack, but was released in 1988, that's when I heard it)

I am way into punk/grunge music. But early stuff like Fugazi, Sebadoah, Husker Du, Pixies, Sonic Youth and some newer stuff like Pavement, Archers of Loaf. (Never been a big Alice in Chains fan)...etc. I also like other types, including the Smiths, the Cure, and hell, even some ol Depeche Mode isn't bad. etc.

All of the bands I've ever been in have been punk/grunge style - I love bar chords and drop-D tuning, what can I say?

My all time favorite current band is Modest Mouse. Check out anything they do, most notably the album Moon and Antartica or Lonesome Crowded West. They rock!

All League
    Post Thanks / Like
    The funny thing is, I own every Pixies album and couldn't recognize Black Francis with actual hair. Kim Deal also doesn't look much like I remember, either.