Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What do I need to know to not suck at Fantasy Football

Veteran

What do I need to know to not suck at Fantasy Football

Is it too early in the season to talk about this? I went to that forum and nobody was there, so here it goes.

I am a relative newbie to fantasy football. I played with 11 strangers last season on CBS sportsline. It was fun, but I came in dead last. Lesson one learned: Don't pick only Jets player for your fantasy team.

So a friend and I are going to have a team on an old college friend's league and he said we were the only ladies that have ever played in his league. So, since I don't want to let them just take my money without putting up some sort of a fight, I need advice. I know football, I know the teams, I know the Jets and I know the big name/high profile players. What I don't know about are those other guys that are going to end up on my team.

What tools or knowledge or information do I need to have to not come in last? So far I have ESPN Insider and you guys. I have a few months to figure this out. I have three little kids so not a lot of time to sit and read and study online, but I do have a lot of time to mull things over.

Any advice, unless it is from SAR saying I need to start a naked fantasy football league, is appreciated.

Kate

All Pro
    sleeping with the commissioner of your league would be a good place to start.

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Hanzo
    sleeping with the commissioner of your league would be a good place to start.
    Let me keep Big Ben and Antonio Gates and I'll consider it.

SAR I

Veteran
    A lot depends on your scoring rules, but draft two running backs early (low supply of starters in the league). Wait until the middle rounds to grab a QB. Don't draft a kicker or team defense until your last two picks.