Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IF we draft Chris Long?

Banned

IF we draft Chris Long?

What is our defense going to look like?

Is it....Ellis - Drob/Pouha - Long/Coleman?

If we draft Long, does he split time with Coleman? Do we use him as an edge rusher? Is it wise to have a back up in Coleman making that much coin?

Do you realize how much money we would have invested in our D-Line?

Kerry maybe you could figure that one out.

Seems like that would be a very costly pick and we would have a ton of money invested in to a unit that has been underperforming for the amount of money they make.

I am no cap expert, but doesnt that really hurt a team finacially to have that much stock in one unit?

I guess my question is, what kind of impact does drafting Chris Long have on the make up of our defense and the money that we need to spend to get the right personel on this team?

Rookie
    I don't think he would split time with either Coleman or Ellis. I think he would play an OLB position and take over Bryan Thomas's position. When do we see BT go out and play coverage on the TE or slot receivers? Not really all that much. Long could play his position alot better than BT, he is more athletic so he definitely could keep up with a TE. But he would be the rush LB.

All Pro
    Unless we pick up an OLB in FA, Bryan Thomas is actually our better OLB. I would think we'd use him from the right side (Hobson) if anything.

Banned
    So you guys see him playing OLB?

Do you draft a OLB that high?

Or is he an excpetion because he can play on the end as well?

All Pro
    No, I actually prefer him at RDE. There are questions if he's heavy enough to play it in the 3-4, though, which suggest he might be more of a hybrid.

My hope is that he does end up 285+ at the combine and then all those questions go away.

Hall Of Fame