Thread: Hard feelings reach Jets' coaches, players

All League
    Great article...

Hard feelings reach Jets' coaches, players
    By Vic Carucci
    National Editor, NFL.com

(April 9, 2003) -- You have to give Washington Redskins coach Steve Spurrier credit for trying to defuse the increasingly combustible relationship between his team and the New York Jets.

I don't think it will make a bit of difference, but I admire the effort.

"If there's any ill will or bad feeling between the Jets and the Redskins, I don't think it's on the coaching level or the player level," Spurrier told reporters in Ashburn, Va., as the latest former Jet, kick returner-running back Chad Morton, was introduced as the newest member of the Redskins.

With all due respect to Spurrier's many years in football as a player and coach, I have to disagree with his assertion that "ill will" or "bad feeling" could somehow ever steer clear of the men who coach and play the game.

Regardless of the origin of any acrimony between two NFL teams, it always finds its way down to the field. How could it not? The coaches and players are the ones who have the greatest say in the outcome, and they're the ones who would be motivated by whatever circumstances create a backdrop of friction.

In this case, the Jets are obviously fuming over the fact the Redskins seemingly targeted their roster in perhaps the most aggressive offseason shopping spree in the history of the league. Before an arbitrator awarded Morton to the Redskins on April 7 after ruling the Jets did not fully match Washington's five-year, $8 million offer to the restricted free agent, Spurrier's club already had acquired Jets offensive guard Randy Thomas, receiver Laveranues Coles, and kicker John Hall.

Thomas, Coles and Morton will be particularly hard to replace. Their departures could very well prevent the Jets from building on the incredibly strong finish that carried them from a likely also-ran to the divisional round of the playoffs.