Thread: Heres the Cap situation

Saw this on another board. Can anyone veriufy the accuracy?

All Pro
    I've seen similar numbers on a rival board here on the 'net. Not all the guys have the same $$$ figures, but it's real close.

All Pro
    If Vinny really has a $4,000,000 base for 2004, then he's definitely heading out the door. No way the Jets can carry him as a backup at that salary. And restructuring base salary to bonus would only worsen the Jets long-term salary cap woes. Time to say goodbye, Vinny.

All Pro
    look at Vinny T's numbers :blink:

Hall Of Fame
    Charter JI Member

I am no cap expert but Santana Moss's contract looks pretty low. His agent is going to want a raise. I'd want a raise if I was Santana.

We talk about paying Pennington, Ellis and Abraham but the day will come when we have to give Santana pro bowl money because he is playing like a pro bowl wideout.

Undrafted Free Agent
    Can someone explain to me to ramifications of cutting a player like chrebet? 2.8 mil base plus 800k+ seems a bit steep. i thought that nfl salaries are not guaranteed but does chrebet have something in his contract that would worsen the cap situation if we released him?

and same question for marvin jones, mo lewis, and vinny

Dave

All League
    no cap expert here either

is the cap hit incurred from bonus or straight salary

VT case. Is $4m the hit or is it bonus of $3.5M plus outyear bonus money?

i would think if you cut salary, then that should not be a hit.

Mo Lewis would be a $1.5hit and Marvin $600K????

Undrafted Free Agent
    i just read further down on the forum and there is a good cap discussion entitled "we got old dudes...cap situation?"
    it served as a sort of salary cap 101.

Dave

All Pro