Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: personal seat licensing

All League
    After scanning a few threads about the potential new stadium, I thought I'd add a few thoughts. I can't say I'm an expert on seat licenses, since here in NE we have an owner who was a season ticket holder, who sat on aluminum benches for a decade, and knew first hand how onerous PSLs can be.

The first question which came to mind is how much those PSLs were going to be. I saw numbers as low as $1500, and as high as $15,000. I just wanted to give Jet fans a better idea of what they should expect.

Based on what I've read, and feel free to correct me. The entire project is going to cost $1.4 Billion. The stadium itself is going to run about $800MM. For the sake of this post, lets assume those figures are correct (again feel free to adjust up or down if those numbers are wrong). Finally I think I read where the cost to the Jets is going to be $600MM (which is a sweet deal for the Jets and a bad deal for the city)

As its been mention in other posts, the purpose of PSLs is to raise instant capital for the owners. The key words here are "for the owner". Also understand that most people of Johnson's wealth don't use their own money very often. (the Krafts being the exception that proves the rule) They use OPM (other people's money). In other words their existing wealth allows them to leverage bank, investors, VC, etc money instead of dipping into their own pockets. So ultimately the cost of the PSLs are going to be used to finance the Jets end of the stadium costs, minus a few million in PR money from Woody.