to do so joining Lou Gehrig, Babe Ruth, Mickey Mantle, Joe DiMaggio, Don
    Mattingly, and Yogi Berra as the others. He is also just one home run
    away from tying Graig Nettles (250) for sixth place on the Yankees all-time
    list.

Charter JI Member
    class act

congrats Bernie

All League
    yea i had my radio on during class and as soon as he hit i jumped out of my seat and high fived everyone in the room

FLATHERY GRAND SLAM! OF ALL PPL

Rookie
    i used to be a middle school teacher and I had is son in one of my classes, one day he came to pick him up really nice guy. His son is named Bernie too, and they look exactly alike, its uncanny

Veteran
    that is awesome! did they win today??

Veteran
    Originally posted by chrebet73@Jun 10 2004, 03:08 PM
    that is awesome! did they win today??
    Game is still on...they're winnin' 10-4. Will be a final score in a sec.....

Banned
    yeah, I watched the game today. CONGRATS BERRRRRRRNNNNN!!!!

I thought maybe he would stretch that into a double but it hit the wall.

they walked Jeter twice, pissed me off. yankees won 10-4, Prinz was awesome

Hall Of Fame
    Viva PR

All League
    Bernie's not a Hall-of-Famer though, is he? I can't imagine that happening, but him being a Yankee, anything is possible I guess. :unsure:

Banned
    Originally posted by Bleedgreen@Jun 10 2004, 07:06 PM
    Bernie's not a Hall-of-Famer though, is he? I can't imagine that happening, but him being a Yankee, anything is possible I guess. :unsure:
    Bernie may qualify as a compiler ... CF and 3 or 4 hitter for six pennant winners and four world championship teams doesn't hurt either

This is a close call ... he'll get serious consideration

Now I have a much higher standard than most HOF voters ... had to be a GREAT PLAYER at some point in your career ... compilers need not apply

But the HOF voters have put so many compilers in the HOF {minus the post season exploits} that it would almost be unfair to leave Bernie out